About Syangja

Syangja District, a part of Gandaki Zone, is one of the seventy-five districts of Nepal, a landlocked country of South Asia. The district, with Syangja as its district headquarters, covers an area of 1,164 km² and has a population (2001) of 317,320.
Syangja in 1994 under the auspices of the South Asia Poverty Alleviation Programme (SAPAP) of the UNDP, received million of dollars of international investment and has become a model for national development. Syangja’s model has proved so successful that the Government of Nepal joined forces with the SAPAP to extend the project to other districts and make it a model for national development. It has been initiated or implemented in at least 200 Village Development Councils (VDCs) of 45 districts of Nepal.
The other main feature of this district is the Siddhartha Highway named after Gautam Buddha. The highway crosses this district in the east to Sarketari and in the west to the border Palpa district, Lumbini Zone.
Many different ethnicities of people live in this district. The major groups consists of Brahmin, Kshatriya, Gurung, Magar and others. The people are famous for their unique identity. Brahmin and chetri (Kshatriya) are renowned by their representation in the governmental jobs and Indian army respectively. Gurungs and Magars are famous because of their involvement in British Army Gurkhas and Military of India. Wild leopards roam free in less developed areas.
The places of Syangja district that keeps their name in history are Sataoun chandi, Manakamana, Bhirkot durbar, Alamdevi, Nuwakot durbar, Chhangchhangdi, Ridi, Jaisidanda etc. Jaisidanda is famous for its hold in the politics of Syangja District for a long time.
Putalibazaar municipality is in eastern and central syangja. Waling is a municipality in western Syangja. It is a longitudinal valley along the beautiful Adhikhola river.
Syangja District, a famous district in Nepalese Bureaucracy, has producing intelligent bureaucrats of the country. Many N G Os are working in syangja. Suryodaya Club, Ask , AACDC, CDRC, Nrids are local ngos are working different sector around syangja.

Sirubari Sirubari is without one of the most attractive village in Nepal. The village is neat and clean very colorful and warm , while the people are friendly, well education and are enthusiastic abaout toursim . Sirubari is a compact farming community village. The Unique attraction of Sirubari is the fact that is the model for a growing new trend in tourism in Nepal – a trend takes the visitor within, Experience stemming for the observations from ; without have always attracted visitor to Nepal. For the adventurous, Nepal has been synonymous with trekking , mountaineering expiations, jungle safari , and river rafting,. For those seeking sprititiality for thr visitours has always been the people and the culture.
Sirubari, a village in Syangja district southwest of pokhara, is a short drive from Pokhara, followed by the comfortable walk. The village is on a south facing slope at 1,700m above see label . the climate is ideals at all times of the years with no show ever falling in the village itself. However, the ideal time to visit between September to June. The houses are mostly build from the local materials and are well constructed and comfortable. The overwhelming impression of the village is one of the odder and classiness but with a warm and welcoming feel to it. Foot trails though the village are all stone paved. The villagers love , for flowers is shown in an all year around riot of colors. Being oh the southern slopes of the ridge the village enjoying long sunny day and is ideal for agriculture. In may 2001 . Sirubari in conjunction wit the Nepal truism board was awarded the PATA Gold award in recognitions of its efforts to preserver the culture and heritage of nepali total life.

Village Development Committees (VDC’s)

  • Almadevi
  • Arjun Chaupari
  • Aruchaur
  • Arukharka
  • Bagefatake
  • Bahakot
  • Banethok Deurali
  • Bhatkhola
  • Bichari Chautara
  • Birgha Archale
  • Biruwa Archale
  • Chandi Bhanjyang
  • Chapakot
  • Chhangchhangdi
  • Chilaunebas
  • Chimnebas
  • Chisapani
  • Chitre Bhanjyang
  • Darsing Dahathum
  • Dhapuk Simal Bhanjyang
  • Eladi
  • Faparthum
  • Fedikhola
  • Jagat Bhanjyang
  • Jagatradevi
  • Kalikakot
  • Kaulmabarahachaur
  • Keware Bhanjyang
  • Khilung Deurali
  • Kichnas
  • Kuwakot
  • Kyakami
  • Majhakot Sivalaya
  • Malengkot
  • Manakamana
  • Nibuwakharka
  • Oraste
  • Pakwadi
  • Panchamul
  • Pauwegaude
  • Pelakot
  • Pelkachaur
  • Pidikhola
  • Rangvang
  • Rapakot
  • Ratnapur
  • Sakhar
  • Sataudarau
  • Sekham
  • Setidobhan
  • Shreekrishna Gandaki
  • Sirsekot
  • Sorek
  • Taksar
  • Thuladihi
  • Thumpokhara
  • Tindobate
  • Tulsibhanjyang
  • Wangsing Deurali
  • Yaladi


1. Waling municipality (Formed from former Dhanubase, Pekhu and Walling VDCs).

2. Putali Bazar municipality (Formed from former Putalibazar, Satupasal, Chandikalika,  Ganeshpur and Karendanda VDCs).

%d bloggers like this: